Lake District – Black Sail to Scafell Pike and back

Lake District Day 1: Coniston to Eskdale
Lake District Day 2: Eskdale to Black Sail Hut
Lake District Day 3: Scafell Pike
Lake District Day 4: Black Sail Hut to Keswick

Author: Steffi - See the dirt?

Author: Steffi – See the dirt?

Approx. 21 km – with Christian.

Up: 1671m / Down: 1671m / Time: 10:05h incl. a break of 45 min

What a day! One that I will dine out from for the rest of my life. We started 8:50am to climb Windy Gap. The first elevation of about 400 meters, up and down again. On the other side we started the climb of Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England (978m). At this point I want to mention that there is a reason why Lake District is called Lake District. There are a lot of lakes there, and the reason for that is, because it’s always raining there. Lucky we, we caught the 5-week-period in 2013 where they had constant sunshine. We had brilliant weather throughout our trip, but if you climb 1700m up and down, a cloud here and there wouldn’t have been too bad. It was incredibly hot. I was longing for a shower basically the minute we left the hut.
So we climbed Scafell Pike up and down, and had to go back via Windy Gap. That meant another 400m up and down and the surface wasn’t the most hiking-friendly one. I knew what we still had ahead of us and that was the point when I was very close to crying from exhaustion. In retrospect the most brilliant moment of my year. And I would do it definitely again!
On the other side of Windy Gap down to Black Sail Hut I slipped quite a few times because the gravel was so loose. (Maybe Christian already started making a list behind my back, counting the times I fell. :-P). You see, that’s when hiking boots are more advantageous than hiking shoes I guess.
Anyway, I think I never enjoyed my dinner more than after that trip.

This entry was posted in Cumbria. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lake District – Black Sail to Scafell Pike and back

  1. Pingback: Lake District – Black Sail to Keswick | Hiking Madness – Hiking in UK and elsewhere

  2. Pingback: Lake District – Eskdale to Black Sail Hut | Hiking Madness – Hiking in UK and elsewhere

  3. Pingback: Lake District – Coniston to Eskdale | Hiking Madness – Hiking in UK and elsewhere

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Reward | Hiking Madness – Hiking in UK and elsewhere

You're welcome to leave a comment:

