Shopping addiction … the other kind

Shopping Addiction 50 Pound note

Source: telegraph.co.uk

We all know, girls like shopping. It’s like a social event, going with your best girlfriend, trying about 100 items, going into 50 shops before you actually buy something and afterwards unpack everything and show it to your best girlfriend again.

Well, that’s NOT me.

When I need something, I know what I want and and I know where to get it. Go there, try 3 things, buy 2. Done. That’s my usual shopping ritual. And I do it alone.

Things are a little different when it comes to shop for the outdoors. I’m turning into this crazy monster that doesn’t look left nor right, doesn’t hear anything, just sees the bright colours of the outdoor section of Decathlon. (For the ones who haven’t had the pleasure yet to come across Decathlon: it’s a mekka for sports and outdoor cloths/shoes/equipment for over 70 different sports, originally from France but spread over the continent and made it over the channel as well.) As I hike, cycle, swim and run, it’s the ideal place for me. I hate going into 50 different stores; I wanna have everything in one place. And still, I probably walk a half marathon in this store because a) it’s so big and b) because my shopping list is so long. I can find my long-needed long-sleeve hiking shirts next to my future camping stove, my replacement tubes for my bike, my new goggles and yoga pants (that I’m gonna wear while working out; NOT in my leisure time on the street … neither the yoga pants nor the goggles ;-)).

This addiction is going on for at least the last 5 years since I first set foot in this store. It’s so bad that Decathlon is sending me vouchers on a regular basis because I collected so many bonus points. Thank you, Decathlon, for feeding my non-existing needs.

This entry was posted in Walkie Talkie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shopping addiction … the other kind

  1. Steffi says:

    All done already. 🙂

    Like

  2. Steffi says:

    Good advice. Let’s hope I can remember it in 7, 8 years when my boots need new soles :-D. Definitely cheaper than new boots and they are already broken in! Very clever! *thumb up*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dayna says:

    Indeed, we’ve found a really good boot repairer (mine needed some minor stitching, my partners needed some more involved work) but given they can also re-sole with Keen, I’m hoping they’ll last a long time!!
    Happy hiking 😊

    Like

  4. Steffi says:

    Ha, Dayna, I know what you mean. I remember my odyssey to hunt for hiking boots before my Scotland trip last year. I went into 4 stores, tried about 20 pairs and had to disappoint 3 of the sales people because I couldn’t find a fitting shoe. I felt pity for my partner after some time so that I left him at home and looked for a pair on my own. Unfortunately I needed a pair and was a little in a rush, but the Lowa boots I bought eventually, are fine. I hope I’ll keep them for some time and don’t have to go on another hunt for the next 10 years :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dayna says:

    I have to be persuaded to go shopping – even if I actually need something.
    Shopping for outdoor gear isn’t too bad, but even that isn’t as straight forward as I’d like – and I don’t just mean the numerous hours spent over four consecutive Friday nights back when I purchased my current pair of hiking boots. My partner showed extreme patience during that episode.
    Generally I don’t buy anything for 6mths or more, then find a shop that’s actually ok, and spend a few hundred dollars on essentials and get about half of what I need before wearing myself out.
    : )

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post!! Do you think you possibly could take a look at my newest post/follow it or let me know what you think? Thanks in advance 🙂 https://benisanadventurer.wordpress.com/

    Like

You're welcome to leave a comment:

