The Bavarian and Austrian Alps – A child’s nightmare – An adult’s paradise

Castle Neuschwanstein, Füssen, Bavaria, Germany

Castle Neuschwanstein, Bavaria, Germany

Holidays are near and we’re gonna go hiking in the Bavarian and Tyrolean Alps in Germany and Austria. How much I’m looking forward to this trip.

I used to go on vacation there with my mum and her friend when I was a kid. God, how much I disliked hiking back then. So boring. No entertainment. Just walking. Until I discovered the Walkman and portable CD-player. Yes, I’m a child of the 90’s. And after that I could walk the Zugspitze up and down as much as my mum wanted, I didn’t mind as long as the Backstreet Boys and Celine Dion were vibrating in my ears.

Königssee, Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany

Königssee, Bavaria, Germany

I went back to Bavaria when I was 18 or 19. I really wanted to see Castle Neuschwanstein again. (The Disney castle is based on the model of Neuschwanstein). I refreshed my memory about the Bavarian Alps and fell in love with them. High mountains, snow covered summits surrounded by green woods and crystal-clear lakes.

It’s been a few years since my last time in the Alps and it’s time to return to see all these wonderful places again. We’ll hire a car and do a circle around South-Germany and West-Austria, flying in and out of Salzburg, Austria.

Our itinerary:

15/Jun          Arrival in Salzburg
15-17/Jun    Berchtesgaden (Bavaria, Germany)
17-19/Jun    Innsbruck (Tyrol, Austria)
19-25/Jun    Oberau (Bavaria, Germany)
25-26/Jun    Going am Wilden Kaiser (Tyrol, Austria)
26-28/Jun    Salzburg (Austria)
28/Jun          back to London (England)

Hikes planned for now are around Königssee (King’s Lake), Karwendel Alps near Innsbruck, Wild Kaiser near Going, Castle Neuschwanstein, through the Höllentalklamm (The gorge of Hell’s Valley), climbing Zugspitze (2962m – Germany’s highest mountain). I’ll definitely post about it when ‘things are happening’. Fingers crossed we’ve got good weather for nice pictures :-).

More Hiking Madness on Facebook and Twitter.

This entry was posted in Austria, Germany and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bavarian and Austrian Alps – A child’s nightmare – An adult’s paradise

  1. Steffi says:

    Thanks. I’ll post prob 2 or 3 in my blog post. Probably a few more on my facebook page, if you want to check it out: https://www.facebook.com/hikingmadness.

    Like

  2. Cant wait to see some of your photos! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Steffi says:

    I’ll let you know how it was ;). I just hope i’ll find enough time to post when we’re there…

    Like

  4. Your plans sound marvellous. All I can think of is how glorious the summer will be there and how beautiful the country will be.

    Liked by 1 person

You're welcome to leave a comment:

