Walk2Walk Holidays Pedometer – Review

This year, Walk2Walk Holidays sent out free pedometers to encourage people to walk more. I was one of the lucky ones who got one. It counts the steps I take, burnt calories and calculates the distance I walked.

Pedometer ReviewFeatures:

– Display of total steps
– Display of burnt kcal
– Display of distance in kilometres
– Clock
– Timer

Additionally, there is a sub section under ‘burnt calories’ where you can set up your own body weight between min. 20kg and 150kg to calculate the burnt calories. Under ‘distance’ is a sub section to enter the length of 1 step between 30 cm and 200 cm to calculate the distance.

Dimensions: L 6.5 x H 5 x D 2.5 cm

How it works:

The pedometer didn’t come with instructions but the navigation is pretty straight forward. The navigation works with 3 buttons: S, R, M.

S = (I call it) steering button
R = Reset button
M = (I call it) main menu button

With the M button you jump from main feature to main feature. If you want to go into sub-sections press S. To change the value in the sub section (like body weight or length of a single step) use R. With M you come back to the main menu.

Pedometer ReviewPros and Cons:

+ Small
+ Easy to attach
+ Good features, including setting up body weight and length of steps for better calculation of burnt calories and distance
+ Easy navigation

– The navigation for body weight and length of step only works in one direction: if you miss the number you want to set up (for example your body weight of 70kg) you need to click your way up to 150kg, start from 20 again and then up to 70.
– No instructions

There were 2 things I wondered about:
1)   The calculation of the distance: How long is 1 of my steps? I didn’t know. So I measured it in my living room. But I’m sure the length of my steps varies depending on if I walk fast or slow or when I take the stairs.
2)   Where do I need to attach the pedometer? When I hold it in my hand and walk nothing happens. When I shake it it starts counting. The pedometer reacts to vibrations but where would it feel it best?

For whom is it?:

The pedometer is for everyone who wants to start walking a bit more. It is encouraging to see how many steps you walked and how much they increase.

There are lots of initiatives going on. In September, the NHS encouraged people to walk 10.000 per day. That is around 5 miles (8 kilometers) and a man (age 45, 70kg) would burn 400kcal. However,  the average person walks only 3.000 – 4.000 steps a day. The pedometer would encourage you to walk more; perfect for someone trying to stay healthy or even loose weight.

Personal experience:

I tried the pedometer on the 3-peaks-challenge in the Chilterns. I started it the minute I left the house and only looked on it again when I was back. 28167 steps, 800 burnt kcal and 18 kilometres on an 18-mile-challenge (plus ways to the train station, to the starting point, back to the train station and walking home). Hmm… something didn’t go right here. Maybe, the reason was that I wore the pedometer in the pocket of my trousers – not on my hip. Apparently (and this is something I learned AFTER I used it), the pedometer measures the swings of your body as you walk. Each swing counts as a step.
I tried the pedometer again on a work day. Walking to work, a walk in the park at lunch time, walk back home again gave a more accurate picture: 5088 steps. But the distance said 1.5 kilometers. That’s definitely wrong.

Conclusion:

The steps option seems realistic and encourages to walk more. The distance calculator, however, is not reliable. Despite that, it’s a nice toys to increase your daily work out in the form of walking.

This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walk2Walk Holidays Pedometer – Review

  1. Stef says:

    I’m always curious about the distances I walk, but this pedometer isn’t really helping with this :/.

    Like

  2. Great idea. You know you have walked and then you look at the pedometer and there is the proof.

    Liked by 1 person

You're welcome to leave a comment:

